Summer Plans, and Reading List!

Summer’s here, and I made it through my first semester at Phillips. I got my grades just yesterday, and I managed all A’s and B’s. I found that the reading and writing requirements are just as onerous as everyone tells you, leaving little time for non-class related activity.

allsouls
All Souls Unitarian Church, at 29th and Peoria in Tulsa

So what am I doing this summer? Well, since the campus ministry obviously doesn’t operate during the summer, I will be working part time at All Souls Unitarian Church, as the Worship Coordinator. All Souls is the largest Unitarian-Universalist Congregation in the country, and I will be working with the ministers and worship team to plan, prepare and execute all three services every week. If you are in the Tulsa area and need a place to attend, come by some Sunday! We have a Traditional service at 10am, and a Contemporary (Pentecostal praise-and-worship) service and Humanist service at 11:30. It’s a great place to be!allsoulslogo

(Yes, there could be some ordination implications here. I’ll discuss that more in the future.)

Also, I am going to try to post regularly this summer, and I have a extensive personal reading list I hope to get through before class starts up again. Here is what I will be reading (and perhaps commentating on) over the next few months.

Called to Community, ed. by Charles E. Moore (reviewing this for Plough Publishing; watch for that in the next couple of weeks!)

The Art of Possibility by Rosamund and Benjamin Zander (required reading for all staff at ASUC.)

Dynamics of Faith by Paul Tillich

Honest to God by John A.T. Anderson

A Theology of Liberation by Gustavo Gutierrez

The Crucified God by Jurgen Moltmann

Becoming Wise by Krista Tippett (a gift from my professor Dr. Ellen Blue, as an award for my Context Matters class!)

Pedagogy of the Oppressed by Paolo Friere

The Big Short by Michael Lewis (We watched the movie recently and loved it, so I can’t wait to dig in.)

Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder (rereading this; I first read this about seven years ago.)

and then rereading the Game of Thrones series, in anticipation of Winds of Winter arriving this fall! (Hopefully.)

That’s what my summer looks like. How about you? Got a reading list? Share below!

Tell Me What You Think

