We all Worship One God/YHWH/Allah: In Solidarity with Dr. Larycia Hawkins

There is no doubt in my mind that Christians and Muslim worship the same God.

larycia-hawkinsI say this in light of the suspension of Dr. Larycia Hawkins, the first African America professor to receive tenure at Wheaton College, and who is now sitting at home because she dared challenge the evangelical status quo by making the (fairly orthodox, historically speaking) claim that I just made above. And, to further the thought, she committed to the wearing of the hijab during the season of Advent, to stand in solidarity with Muslim women in this country who are singled out because of this worn symbol of humility.

Wheaton’s stance on this aside, it is no big leap of theology or orthodoxy to say that Muslims, Jews and Christians all share the same God, whom we each refer to and experience in different ways. This isn’t to claim the superiority of any of these three experiences; they hold value and power for those who ascribe to each. All three faiths find their origins in the Abrahamic tradition of monotheism, and each share broadly similar theological claims about God.

It’s entirely self-centered and prideful to attempt to eliminate any of the three traditions from the Abrahamic family. Evangelicals who try to close the path to God in favor of protecting their own perceived place of power and privilege with relation to God are doing a great disservice to the goal of welcoming all peoples into relationship with God, whatever that relationship may look like.

Wheaton College is free to act as it pleases, and enforce whatever rules they wish upon their faculty, staff and students. But they are not free to place restrictions on access to God, or define the historical relation of the West’s three dominant religions to each other and to God. To do so is to take the role of Pharisees, of those religious leaders who wished to control and portion out access in service of their own positions of power.

I pray that Wheaton finds a measure of humility and reinstates Dr. Hawkins, so that she may continue to teach her students such basic ideas as the interconnectedness of the great Abrahamic faiths.

7 thoughts on “We all Worship One God/YHWH/Allah: In Solidarity with Dr. Larycia Hawkins

  1. Odd that each religion, in its own religious writings, claims that its God is the only God.

    Why does your god constantly require the help of man (as yourself) to speak for him? Why do you follow such a weak/inconsistent being?

    Like

    1. I’m not really sure when me expressing my views about God and faith became me “Speaking for God.” At least not anymore so than when you write something in about your views. How about you engage the content of my post, instead of go after some poorly crafted straw man?

      Like

      1. The content of your post was, “We all Worship One God/YHWH/Allah”, correct?

        I then correctly stated that none of those religions, you stated in the content of your post, accept alternate views of the ‘One God’.

        Thus, the god you are proposing exists, is not the God of Christianity, nor the god of the jews, nor the god of the muslims. Therefore, your are speaking for your god. At the same time, you claim to represent Christianity, based on the description of your blog site.

        No straw man. Just you propping up a god that doesn’t exist and clothing him in any words that will soothe your soul. Whether that be the Bible, the Koran, the Jewish texts or other ‘scholars’ that speak to itching ears. As a result, you believe in a weak god that requires man’s help.

        If I am so incorrect. Please provide scriptural proof. I will even give you, a Christian, the opportunity to find it the texts of the other religions.

        Like

      2. I’m really not interested in throwing individual uncontexualized verses of Scripture, Christian or otherwise, around in defense of a position. I think to do so is the basis of poor theology and pointless argumentation.

        But you are right. You and I don’t worship the same God. The God I worship is not some theistic, male, reward-and-punishment being who needed the blood of Jesus to have his rage satiated. My God, and the God I share with all the great faith traditions, is so much more than that, and certainly can’t be defined or contained by my, or any, religion. If that means that I’m not a “Christian”, as you and others would classify me, that’s fine. I’m not interested in being associated as such anyways.

        Like

      3. That is a disappointing response. You use an atheistic categorization to deny the Christian faith as it has been presented for 2000 years. Then present an agnostic view of a god that fits your personal needs but is denied by the religions you claim to share great faith traditions with.

        Your god will forever disappoint as you chase cultural relativism. Whatever you think of the Christian God, it is yours that allows you to flounder in this evil world with nothing more than an endless demand for equality via social justice. Simply watching as you, Sisyphus, pushes the next utopian dream up the hill.

        I will pray that you find your way.

        Like

      4. Don’t bother with the prayers. I actually find great meaning and life in the God I have experienced, and my passion for social justice is what I wish do to dedicate my life to, even if I never see it realized. I can do no other because God and Jesus point me that way. And it sure beats a life of fear and uncertainty and fear about whether or not I got the magic formula just right so that I can stay out of hell.

        Like

Tell Me What You Think

